Nowgong Girls' College

Major Milestones

  • A dedicated institution for women was established as Nowgong Women's College' with Late Nirmal Chandra Samaddar of Nowgong College as the acting Principal of the institution and Dr. Lalit Kr. Baruah as the founder secretary
  • The institution ceased to exist with the demise of Dr. Lalit Kr. Baruah
June 1962
  • Formal discussion to re-establish a dedicated institution for women was held in the Office of the Deputy Commissioner of Nowgong and a Steering Committee was constituted
July 1962
  • The Steering Committee met the then Education Minister Late Debakanta Baruah on 8 th July 1962 for establishing a Women’s College in Nagaon
  • First meeting of the Steering Committee was held on 11 th July 1962 chaired by the then Deputy Commissioner of Nowgong Satish Jivan Das, IAS. The Committee decided to start Pre-University and Degree courses simultaneously in the proposed Women’s College and decided to name the college as Nowgong Women's College. A sub-committee was constituted to speed up the establishment of the College with the 8 office-bearers
September 1962
  • In the meeting of the Steering Committee held on 4th September 1962, a decision was taken to rename the Nowgong Women’s College as L.C. Todi Women's College after the prominent businessman of the district of that time Late Lal Chand Todi in respect to his commitment to provide a significant financial assistance for the establishment of the proposed College
  • Late Mahesh Chandra Dev Goswami was appointed as the first Principal of Nowgong Women’s College by the Committee
  • Formal classes were started with 42 students on 12th September 1962. Initially the classes were held in the premises of Nowgong College; later the College was shifted to the Red-Cross Building at Amolapatty
  • Bimala Prasad Chaliha, the then Chief Minister of Assam, formally inaugurated the College on 20th September 1962
November 1962
  • On 15th November 1962 the name of the College was changed to L.C. Todi Girls' College
December 1962
  • On 23rd December 1966, the College was renamed as Nowgong Girls' College
  • Establishment of PDP Hostel
  • Establishment of SBP Hostel
September 1987
  • Nowgong Girls’ College celebrated its Silver Jubilee
  • Sahitya Akademi Award received by principal Apurba Sarma
  • Rajat Kamal Award received by principal Apurba Sarma
  • Sahitya Akademi Translation Award received by Dr.Rajen Saikia, HoD History.
November 2004
  • The Institution was accredited at B+ Grade by the NAAC in its 1 st assessment cycle on 14 th November 2004
  • Inauguration of Renovated College Auditorium
  • Inauguration of 2nd block of PDP Hostel
  • Nowgong Girls’ College celebrated its Golden Jubilee
  • Introduction of PG department in Assamese
  • Establishment of College Indoor Stadium
May 2015
  • Nowgong Girls’ College was re-accredited at A Grade by the NAAC in its 2 nd assessment cycle on 1 st May 2015
  • Inauguration of new Administrative Building
  • Unveiling of bust of founder principal Mahesh Chandra Dev Goswami
  • Inauguration of Water Fountain and Martyrs’ Memorial
February 2018
  • Permission was granted to Nowgong Girls’ College to introduce Science stream by the Gauhati University on 22 nd February 2018
  • was introduced in self-financing mode with introduction of 4 new departments, viz. Physics, Chemistry, Botany and Zoology along with the existing departments of Mathematics, Geography and Economics
August 2018
  • Formal classes under the newly introduced Science faculty was started from the academic session 2019-20
  • The Government of Assam permitted the opening of Science Stream in the College and approved appointment of permanent faculty members under the Science departments on 18 th August 2018
  • Inauguration of the College Cafeteria (Swad)
  • Introduction of PG department in Geography
February 2021
  • Inauguration of Science Blocks, Foot Bridge, Muktangon, Conference Hall, Clock Tower by honourable Education Minister of Assam Dr.Himanta Biswa Sarma
December 2021
  • Hosted 66th Annual Conference of Assam College Teachers’ Association (ACTA)
  • Inauguration of Diamond Jubilee Memorial of “CharaivetiCharaiveti” by honourable Chief Minister of Assam Dr.HimantaBiswaSarma